IoD Nigeria Inducts 79 New Members

The president and Chairman of Council of the Institute of Directors Nigeria, Chief. Chris O. Okunowo, F.IoD has laid the onus of responsibility and good corporate governance for business success and sustainability on the heads of the newly inducted members of the Institute.

Chief Okunowo gave this charge recently at the induction ceremony of 79 men and women into the Institute, which took place on March 30, 2021. In his welcome address, he noted  that everything rests on the corporate leaders on whose hands lies the hope and fortunes of organisational shareholders and stakeholders at large. “You must understand what it means to be a director and solely take responsibility and accountability for the direction of your organizations, and you must not betray the trust entrusted on you at any time, because to whom much is given, much is expected as well,” he added.


“IoD Nigeria is a professional Institute that prides itself as the National champion of good corporate governance and our pride is in our members who are dedicated and always manifest an uncommon ability to direct and lead their organisations in accordance with the principles of good corporate governance and sound business ethics,” he observed.


Furthermore, Chief Okunowo stated that the success of any organization rests squarely on the performance, competence and integrity of its directors who are its appointed leaders, while adding that the advocacy role of the Institute in the entrenchment of best practice with regard to how directors lead their organisations usually commences by exposing new members to the capacity development program of the Institute called ‘Company Direction Course I.’


While felicitating with the new members, he urged them to uphold good Corporate Governance principles and be guided by the Ethics Code of the Institute at all levels in their work places and in their business affairs, and also charged them to appreciate the privilege of their status in the Institute and be committed to supporting the Institute for its positive growth and development.


The names of the new directors include: